

Another PLIPDECO director resigns

ANOTHER director has resigned from the Point Lisas Industrial Port Development Corporation Ltd (PLIPDECO), adding to the series of administrative changes to the company's board and leadership team over the past seven months.

The latest resignation is from Ayanna Miguel.

Miguel's resignation was announced by the T&T Stock Exchange, in accordance with Section 64(1)(b) of the Securities Act 2012.

Miguel's resignation was effective February 28.

'The corporation wishes to express its gratitude to Miguel for her service,' PLIPDECO said in its notice of material change.

Miguel's resignation came weeks after Dr Averne Pantin, the acting president of the PLIPDECO, who was placed on administrative leave in January, resigned from the corporation.

Pantin's resignation took effect on February 7, the same day Works Minister Rohan Sinanan assured that there was 'nothing abnormal' about the multiple administrative changes to the PLIPDECO board and leadership team over the past seven months.

It was the same day that PLIPDECO's chairman, Annette Wattie, confirmed that the administrative changes within the organisation's leadership were part of an ongoing investigation.

On July 29 last year, PLIPDECO president Ernest Ashley Taylor was placed on administrative leave, and Pantin, then-vice-president of Technical Services, was appointed acting president. Taylor officially retired on December 1 last year, with Pantin continuing as acting president. However, on January 20, Pantin was placed on administrative leave, and vice-president of Port Operations, Curtis Dennie, was appointed acting president.

Timeline of recent changes at PLIPDECO: JULY 29, 2024: PLIPDECO president Ernest Ashley Taylor was placed on administrative leave. Vice-president of Technical Services Dr Averne Pantin was appointed acting president.

OCTOBER 8, 2024: At the 57th AGM, it was resolved that Dr Daniel Dookie would cease to be PLIPDECO's chairman. AnnetteWattie was appointed chairman and Stephen Harris was appointed to the board.

SEPTEMBER 30, 2024: Havdn Jones resigned from the board.

DECEMBER 1, 2024: Taylor offi cially retired. Pantin continued as acting president.

JANUARY 20, 2025: Pantin was sent on administrative leave. Vice-president of Port Operations Curtis Dennie was appointed acting president.

JANUARY 27, 2025: Manager of Cargo Handling Clint Dunan was appointed acting vice-president of Port Operations. Manager of planning Deoraj Mahase was appointed acting vice-president of Technical Services. Both appointments are valid until March 15, 2025.

JANUARY 29, 2025: Vice-president of Business Services Nigel Subiah and corporate secretary Richelle Lyman were sent on administrative leave until March 15, 2025.

JANUARY 30, 2025: Manager of Finance Deera Goorahoo-Ramdeo was appointed acting vice-president of Business Services until March 15, 2025. Manager of Legal Kelly Jackson-Baynes was appointed assistant secretary.

FEBRUARY 7, 2025: Pantin resgins.

FEBRUARY 28, 2025: Ayanna Miguel resigns from the board.